20th Anniversary, July 2019

The Southern California Plumeria Society is a vibrant group of more than 600 people who share a passion for plumerias. We were founded in 1999 with a mission to encourage and further the enjoyment, public awareness, scientific interest, research, education and preservation of all species of the genus plumeria.

What we do

  • Host free  meetings offering talks with knowledgeable plumeria experts from around the world
  • Offer free tree-trimming services
  • Bestow scholarships and internships
  • Maintain an internet presence and resource of plumeria information
  • Send speakers to local groups and locations such as the San Diego Floral Association, the San Diego County Fair, and the San Diego Botanical Garden Foundation
  • Host our annual cutting sale and Hawaiian Plumeria Festival.

The SCPS leadership team is composed entirely of volunteers.

SCPS Board of Directors

President: Dawn Sullivan (2017 – 2020)

Vice-President: Don Doerfler (2019 – 2022)

Treasurer: Yvonne Sandza-Doerfler (2017 – 2020)

Secretary: Roman Kuchkuda (2019 – 2022)

Jonathan Arendt (2018 – 2021)

Ava Chan-Crowder (2018 – 2021)

Andy Oltman (2017 – 2020)

Leanne Preihs (2019 – 2022)

Jeff Sharp (2018 – 2021)

SCPS Committee Heads

Annual Sales Events: Patty Ochenduszko

Calendar: Andy Oltman, Leanne Preihs, Alix Sharp

Community Events and Volunteers: Terry Walston

Doorprizes: Kirsten Peraino

Educational Fund: Don Doerfler

Flower Show: Kirsten and Noah Peraino

Historian: Ava Chan-Crowder

Journal Editor: Ava Chan-Crowder

Membership: Tina O’Neill

Outreach: Leanne Preihs

Marketing & Publicity: Kim Schultz, Elaine Peat-Foster, Maggie Forys

Raffle Prize Table: Andy Oltman

Raffle Tickets: Jan Estavillo, Dorothy Janse, Barry Pechersky

Refreshments: Juanita Edwards, Kathy Estes, Dave and Sonia Hansen, Dawn-Michelle Atallian, David Cheever

Retail Sales Tables: Richard Pires

Technical Advisor: Jonathan Arendt

Tree Trimming: Jeff Sharp and Noah Peraino

Contact us by email at info@socalplumeriasociety.com or by voicemail at 760-452-0768